How to invite a user into an Organization

This tutorial shows you how to create teams and projects.

You need a Katalon account. Register here if you don't have one.

Organization-level roles and permissions

  • Owner - is granted by default when creating a new organization or transferred by the other users, who have full permission related to the organization, including teams, users, projects, licenses, plugins, and subscriptions.
  • Admin - is granted by the Owner, who has the Owner's privileges but cannot manage the subscriptions.
  • User - is automatically assigned when a person joins an organization. Users can only monitor project progress.
  • Billing Manager - is granted by the Owner or Admin, who has the User's privileges with additional permission to manage subscriptions.

Invite a user to join organization

As an Owner/Admin

This feature is accesible to the organization Owner and Admin only.

  • In Katalon Administrantion page, on the top right corner, click the symbol Setting. Click User Management.

  • The Manager User displays with Users and Pending Invitations.

  • Go to Users > Click on the Invite user button on the top right corner.

  • Enter valid email addresses and click Invite. Note: You can enter multiple accounts at the same time.

  • An invitation email will be sent to the invited members, or you can copy the activation link and send it to them to confirm and join your organization.

After joining the organization, the new user can only access projects after being added to a team.

As a User

After being invited to join organization, you will recieve an email with the subject "Invitation to join Katalon Organization".

Accept the invitation by clicking the activation link in the email.

Sign in to the Katalons TestOps.

You will be navigated to the below page. Click on the blue button to join your organzation.

Manage users

This feature is accesible to the organization Owner and Admin only.

View pending invitations

After inviting users to your organization, you can view the list of pending invitations in Users page.

Before users accept the invitation, their email address will display in the list with activation links.

You can withdraw the invitation by removing it from PENDING INVITATIONS.

View a list of members in your organization

You can view the list of existing members in Users page once they have accepted the invitation to join your organization.

After joining the organization, their name and email address will display in the Users section with the default User role. You can update their permission by editing information on the User's details page.

Remove an existing user

On the left sidebar, click Users. On the Manager Users click the remove icon in the last column and confirm your action in the pop-up.

Update user permission

Assign Admin or User role

The Admin and Owner can reassign the existing Admin and User to a new role. Select your organization/team > from Users Tab, click the pencil icon in the last column.

On page detail, show Role select Admin, User, Billing Manager or Owner role in the drop-down list. A user can have different roles in different teams.

Assign Billing Manager role

Billing Manager role is only available at the organization level and granted by the organization Owner or Admin. Select your organization > from Users Tab, click the pencil icon in the last column and then select Billing Manager role in the drop-down list.

Transfer organization ownership

The Owner and Admin of an organization can transfer the ownership of an Owner to another existing team member.

  • Select an organization, go to Manage Users page, go to the user's details page by clicking on the pencil icon.

  • Select Owner in the drop-down list.

  • Click Update.

Note: Transferring Organization ownership does NOT affect Team ownership. The previous Owner still has full permission as a Team Owner to these teams, which have been created by them before.

Rename an Organization

This feature is accesible to the organization Owner and Admin only.

To rename an Organization, go to your Organization and click Settings, choose Organization Management.

You can edit the name in the Organization profile section.

Click Update to save your changes.

Delete an Organization

This feature is accesible to the organization Owner only.

To delete an Organization, click Settings, choose Organization Management, the Settings page displays. In the Settings page, you will see Delete this organization option. Click the button I understand the consequences, delete this organization.

Type the organization's name and click the button I understand the consequences, delete this organization.

You cannot undo this action. You will permanently delete your organization, projects, licenses and remove all associated teams.

Feedback